“Do You Need a Ride to School Tomorrow?”

This is going to be a relatively short post because I’ve had an incredibly long day. On my way home from work today, my car broke down, and I had to go through the process of getting it towed to the dealership, getting a rental car, etc.  As my car was being hooked up to the tow truck, I sent out a tweet about it.  Within about 10 minutes, I had a couple offers of assistance from colleagues and friends, but also within those 10 minutes, I had a student text me and ask me if I needed a ride home or to school the next day.  A student.

This is why I love teaching, particularly at a small, Christian school.  Teachers and students get to know one another and genuinely care for each other.  In the best situations, teachers learn who their students are not just as pupils in their classrooms but as people who spend 2/3 of each day outside the classroom, and students see their teachers not just as the robot at the front of the room spewing information but as a human being.

So while I definitely complain about work-related issues (too much, I think), and while I don’t always remember how good I have it, on days like this, I love my job and I love my students.

 

1 Comment

  1. Donna,
    So sorry about your car troubles; but this post made my day. Just when I ” have had it”, Providence always sends me a reminder that I am blessed too. Thanks for writing…and let me know if you need a ride. We have 2 cars going to TPS every day.
    Leah

Leave a Reply

